Computer Memory Measurements – bits, bytes, and other units of measure for digital information

Computer Memory Measurements

Bits, Bytes, and other Units of Measure for Digital Information.


A bit is a binary digit, the smallest increment of data on a computer. A bit can hold only one of two values: 0 or 1, corresponding to the electrical values of off or on, respectively.

Because bits are so small, you rarely work with information one bit at a time. Bits are usually assembled into a group of eight to form a byte. A byte contains enough information to store a single ASCII character, like “h”.

A kilobyte (KB) is 1,024 bytes, not one thousand bytes as might be expected, because computers use binary (base two) math, instead of a decimal (base ten) system.

Computer storage and memory are often measured in megabytes (MB) and gigabytes (GB). A medium-sized novel contains about 1 MB of information. 1 MB is 1,024 kilobytes, or 1,048,576 (1024×1024) bytes, not one million bytes.

1 Bit – Binary Digit

8 Bits – 1 Byte

1024 Bytes – 1 KB (KiloByte)

1024 KB – 1 MB (MegaByte)

1024 MB – 1 GB (Giga Byte)

1024 GB – 1 TB (Terra Byte)

1024 TB – 1 PB (PetaByte)

1024 PB – 1 EB (ExaByte)

1024 EB – 1 ZB (ZettaByte)

1024 ZB – 1 YB (Yotta Byte)

1024 YB – 1 (Bronto Byte)

1024 Bronto Byte – 1 (Geop Byte)

Now Currently, Geop Byte is the Highest Memory.


Also Read:

Leave a Reply